Unemployment and the expansion of the work undertaken by the Branch, and the increase in the demands made upon its resources led to the creation of a special Department of the Government by the Department of Labour Act, 1919.

The Department of Labour administers the following Acts: the Department of Labour Act; the Factory, Shop and Office Building Act; the Steam Boiler Act; the Operating Engineers Act; the Building Trades Protection Act; the Employment Agencies Act; the Apprenticeship Act; the Regulations respecting the Protection of Persons working in Compressed Air; the Regulations respecting the Protection of Persons working in Tunnels and Open Caissons; the Minimum Wage Act. The Department is required to maintain employment offices, to collect information respecting employment, sanitary and other conditions in work places. wages and hours of work, and to study labour legislation in other parts of the British Empire and in foreign countries, as well as any suggested changes in the labour laws of Ontario. The representatives of the Department of Labour have right of access to offices, factories and other work places at any reasonable hour, and may be authorized to hold inquiries under the Public Inquiries Act. The Department publishes annual reports which cover the work of the officers employed in the administration of the various Acts assigned to it. The Minimum Wage Act is administered by the Minimum Wage Board.

Manitoba Department of Labour.—The Act of 1915, establishing the Manitoba Bureau of Labour, provided that it be attached to the Department of Public Works; an amendment of 1922, however, provided for its attachment to any other Department as the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may determine. The Bureau was created a separate Department by c. 28 of the Statutes of Manitoba, 1931, but the Act was not proclaimed until July 6, 1934.

The Department is charged with the administration of the following Acts: the Bureau of Labour Act; the Manitoba Factories Act; the Bake Shop Act; the Shops Regulation Act; the Minimum Wage Act; the Elevator and Hoist Act; the Steam Boiler Act; the Building Trades Protection Act; the Public Buildings Act; the Fair Wage Act; the Electricians' License Act; the Amusements Act (Secs. 11 to 15); the One Day's Rest in Seven Act; the Employment Bureau Act.

Saskatchewan Bureau of Labour and Public Welfare.—This Bureau was created by an Act of 1934 to replace the Department of Railways, Labour and Industries. It is administered by the Minister of Municipal Affairs, assisted by a permanent Commissioner. The function of the Bureau is to administer matters relating to the relief of distress in addition to the following Acts: the Factories Act; the Building Trades Protection Act; the Employment Agencies Act; the One Day Rest in Seven Act; the Weekly Half-Holiday Act; the Coal Mines Safety and Welfare Act; the Minimum Wage Act, and the Workmen's Wage Act. It is also charged with the operation of public free employment offices; the collection and publication of information and statistics relating to employment; wages and hours of labour throughout the province; strikes and other labour difficulties; trade unions and labour organizations; the relations between capital and labour, and other subjects connected with industrial problems; the commercial, industrial and sanitary conditions of employment.

Alberta Bureau of Labour.—The Act of 1922, creating the Alberta Bureau of Labour, provided that the Bureau be in charge of a Minister having under him a Commissioner of Labour. The latter is empowered to collect and publish infor-